Cricket News

Pakistan World Cup squad announced, Shaheen Shah Afridi returns to the squad

Shahnawaz Dahani and Fakhar Zaman are a part of the reserves.
Pakistan Cricket Team
Pakistan Cricket Team (Source- Twitter)

The Pakistan squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 has been announced. The squad has striking similarities to the one that played in the recently concluded Asia Cup. The batting wears a solid look, with the opening batters Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan, who will take the responsibility with the gloves. The batting also has the big hitters who are required to clear the fence in the big grounds in Australia.

The hitters in the form of Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Haider Ali and Iftikar Ahmed form the middle order and the fulcrum of the side. They will look to score runs in the middle order with higher strike rates and belt the bowlers all over the park.

The spin department is also strong with the likes of Shadab Khan and Usman Qadir, who played in Australia earlier, and will look to make the most of conditions with which he is familiar. The pace attack will be Pakistan’s trump card in the tournament. All the bowlers can bowl quick and sharp with speeds of 140 plus which can cause terror to the batters.

Their fast-bowling attack has Naseem Shah, Harris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Mohammad Hasnain, who will come together and form a deadly right and left arm combination of the pace attack and bowl with superb accuracy and top gun speeds. The fast-bowling attack can take Pakistan all the way to the knockouts of the 20-20World Cup.

This squad put together looks great, and put together with Pakistan’s mercurial nature can cause an upset to any team at any stage in the tournament. Usman Qadir did not perform very well in the only Asia Cup super-four game that he played against Sri Lanka but he will look to shine when he encounters conditions that he already knows in Australia which will work to his benefit.

The squad is well-rounded and looks dangerous and can topple any side at any point in time

Pakistan Squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir.

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

Related Posts