T20 World Cup 2024

Afghanistan T20I Squad for the 20-20 World Cup announced! Qais Ahemed and Darwish Rasooli included

Rahmat Shah, and Gulbadin Naib are in the reserves.
Afghanistan Cricket Team
Afghanistan Cricket Team (Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan has announced their 15-member squad for the World Governing body Men’s 20-20 World Cup 2022, which is slated to be held in Australia on 16 October.

The side will be led by the experienced Mohammad Nabi. Middle-order batter Darwish Rasooli, all-rounder Qais Ahmad and the right-arm quick Salim Safi are the new additions to the squad.

22-year-old Rasooli, who made his international debut earlier this year, makes it to the side after recovering from a finger injury and churning out impressive performances in the Shpageeza Cricket League 2022.  Qais Ahmed has played in the Big Bash League for Australia and will be looking to make full use of the conditions that he is familiar with.

Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, and Gulbadin Naib have been named as the standbys, while the rest of the squad is made up of familiar names.

“The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to buildup things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia,” Chief selector Noor Malikzai said.

“Fortunately, Darwish Rasooli has recovered from injury (broken finger) and we are happy to have him available for the WT20, he has demonstrated good glimpses of him in the previously held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and offers an additional batting option to our middle order.

“Since the Australian conditions offer further support for the fast bowlers, so we have added Salim Safi, the tall right-arm quick to add further impetus to our bowling department. Overall we have picked our best available players for the event and we are hopeful of them to do well and better represent the country in the mega event.”

The squad is a well-rounded unit with batting depth, a fiery pace attack with a good right arm and left arm options and lovely spinning options in Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Qais Ahmed.

Afghanistan’s T20 World Cup Squad: 

Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi, Usman Ghani

Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib

Related Posts