Cricket News

‘Champions’ -Twitter astounded as India Capitals beat Bhilwara Kings to clinch Legends League 2022

India Capitals won the match by 104 runs.
India Capitals
India Capitals (source: Twitter)

The Legends League Cricket final was played on October 5th at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur. It was a perfect fit to play at Jaipur for the big occasion. It turned out to be India Capitals day as they registered a mammoth win by 104 runs over Bhilwara Kings.

The Toss was won by Bhilwara Kings, who opted to bowl first on a high-scoring ground. India Capitals got off to a shaky start as they lost the wickets of Gautam Gambhir, Dwayne Smith, Hamilton Masakadza, and Denesh Ramdin for just 21 runs on the board.

Ross Taylor resurrected the India Capitals innings and took the attack to the Bhilwara bowlers

They needed some rearguard action, and it was provided byΒ Ross Taylor and Mitchell Johnson. It was a great move from Gautam Gambhir to promote Johnson up the order and hold Ashley Nurse back. The move paid great dividends as Johnson and Taylor obliterated the bowling attack of the Bhilwara Kings and sent them on a leather hunt.

Β Taylor scored a superb 82 off 41 balls with four boundaries and eight sixes. Johnson made a stroke-filled 62 off 35 balls with seven fours and three sixes. The partnership between the Australian and the New Zealander was worth 126, which was the joint highest in the Legends Cricket League.

The finishing touches was provided by Ashley Nurse, who scored a quickfire 42 off 19 balls with six fours and one maximum. These contributions allowed the India Capitals to reach a huge total of 211-7 in their 20 overs.

For the Bhilwara Kings, Rahul Sharma and Monty Panesar were the best of the lot as they picked up four and two wickets, respectively, from their spells.

In the second innings, the batters from Bhilwara fell like a house of cards as they lost wickets at regular intervals and could not get back into the match. Pankaj Singh picked up the big wicket of Irfan Pathan and Dhammika Prasad. Pawan Suyal picked up Willam Porterfield and the dangerous Yusuf Pathan. Pravin Tambe, the old warhorse, scalped Rajesh Bishnoi and Tim Bresnan. Johnson, Liam Plunkett, and Rajat Bhatia picked up a wicket each from their spells.

For the men from Bhilwara, only Shane Watson and Jesal Karia showed some resistance as they scored 27 from 19 balls, with three fours and a six, and 22 from 17 balls, with three fours and a six, respectively.Β In the end, it was a huge win for the India Capitals who were led well byΒ Gautam Gambhir.

Twitter was abuzz, let us take a look at the reactions here-

Related Posts