Big Bash League 2023-24

Watch: Melbourne Cricket Ground pays tribute to Shane Warne during Big Bash League Match 4

Melbourne Stars won the match by 38 runs.
Shane Warne
Shane Warne (Image source; Twitter)

The exciting action continued in the Big Bash League 2022 as Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes locked horns with each other in Match 4. Hurricanes captain Matthew Wade won the toss and invited Stars to bat first. The opening duo of Joe Clarke and Thomas Rogers walked out to the middle to give a blazing start to their side. The duo put on 54 runs for the first wicket. During the powerplay, the entire Melbourne Cricket Ground stoop up to pay tribute to the late Shane Warne who passed away earlier this year.

The official Twitter handle of Big Bash League shared the video of the tribute on Twitter. After the fifth ball of the four over of the first innings, the entire crowd and the players on the field clapped to pay homage to the ‘King of Spin’ Shane Warne.

Watch the video here:

Joshua Clarke scored a magnificent hundred for Melbourne Stars

Coming back to the match, after losing his opening partner Rogers, Clarke continued to take on the attack on the Hurricanes. He was involved in another 50-run-stand for the second wicket with Beau Webster. The entire Stars’ line up batted around Clarke who showed no mercy on the Hurricanes. He went on to score a magnificent 101 unbeaten off just 66 balls with the help of nine fours and four sixes as Stars finished their innings on 183/5.

Riley Meredith was the pick of the bowlers for the Hurricanes who picked up 2/38 in his four overs. In reply to the Stars, Hurricanes openers Ben McDermott and D Arcy Short couldn’t continue their innings for long and fell cheaply. Captain Matthew Wade tried to stabilize the innings with his gritty knock however couldn’t get his innings going as he failed to find the boundaries.

Stars continued to pick up wickets at regular intervals and derailed the Hurricanes in their chase. They finished their innings at 145/9 as the Stars won the game by 38 runs. Shadab Khan and Luke Wood were the pick of the bowlers as they picked up three wickets each while Nathan Coulter Nile scalped two wickets. Joe Clarke was awarded ‘Player of the Match’ for his magnificent hundred.

Related Posts