Cricket News

Indian Cricket Board announce squad for the ODI series against South Africa, Rajat Patidar gets maiden call-up

The first ODI between India and South Africa will be played on 6th October in Lucknow.
Shikhar Dhawan and Rajat Patidar
Shikhar Dhawan and Rajat Patidar: (Image Source: Twitter)

The Indian Cricket Board have announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against South Africa. All the players who are part of India’s 20-20 World Cup squad, have been given rest for the limited over’s assignment. 

Veteran batter, Shikhar Dhawan has been tasked to lead the team, while Shreyas Iyer will be his deputy. Rajat Patidar, who plays for the Bangalore franchise in the Indian T20 League, has received a maiden call-up. He has been picked up in the squad on the back of stellar performances for Bangalore in the other various tournaments in domestic cricket. 

Sanju Samson, who has been making headlines for his exclusion from the World Cup team, has been included as well. Shubman Gill, who impressed in limited opportunities in ODI colours, will likely resume his partnership with Dhawan at the top.

Besides, the likes of Rahul Tripathi, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Ishan Kishan will further form the batting unit. As far as the pace-attack is concerned, M Siraj and Deepak Chahar will lead the attack. The duo will share fast bowling duties with Avesh Khan and Shardul Thakur. One no

Ravi Bishnoi, who impressed in the Asia Cup match against Pakistan will form the spin attack alongside Kuldeep Yadav and Shahbaz Ahmed. 

Here’s a look at the complete squad for the ODI series: 

India’s ODI squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar

The first ODI match will be played on 6th October in Lucknow, before the action shifts to Ranchi for the second ODI on 9th October and Delhi for the third one on 11th October.  

Related Posts