T20 World Cup 2024

Breaking News: Mohammed Shami replaces Jasprit Bumrah in India’s 20-20 World Cup squad

Mohammed Shami was the second highest wicket taker in the 2015 World Cup.
Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami
Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami- Source (Twitter)

The big news is that Mohammed Shami has been announced as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement for the 20-20 World Cup 2022. This was in the pipeline for some time ever since Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out of the 20-20 World Cup due to a back injury. Shami has played 17 T20Is for India and last played a T20I in the 20-20 World Cup 2021 on November 8, 2021, in the UAE.

Bumrah missed the Asia Cup 2022 due to a back spasm, and he played two matches in the T20I series at home against Australia before he missed the first game against South Africa at Thiruvanthapuram. He was subsequently ruled out of the remaining two T20I games against South Africa due to injury.

Shami was named as a standby in the 20-20 World Cup squad. The fast bowler had recently recovered from a bout of Covid -19 and recently posted a picture of him going to Australia for the World Cup on Instagram. Shami will fit the bill to replace Bumrah in Australia as he has played in Australia previously at the 2015 World Cup where he picked up 17 wickets from 7 matches at an average of 17.29 and a strike rate of 21.5 and an outstanding economy rate of 4.81.

Mohammed Siraj called up as backup

When it comes to other replacements in the 20-20 World Cup squad for the Men in Blue, the Indian Cricket Board has confirmed that Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Siraj will join in as backups, according to ESPNCricinfo. The two fast bowlers will also travel to Australia shortly.

The main squad left for Australia on October 6 and are based in Perth. They have had a week-long training camp followed by two practice games against Western Australia. The 20-20 World Cup squad of India is as follows – Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami

Related Posts