Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup 2022: Ravindra Jadeja ruled out of the Asia Cup 2022 with a knee injury

In the second match against Hong Kong, Jadeja took one wicket in four overs while giving away just 15 runs.
Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel
Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel: (Image Source: Twitter)

In what has come as a big blow to India, Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the ongoing Asia Cup 2022 with a right knee injury. Axar Patel, who was earlier named as a stand-by player, will replace the 33-year-old in the squad.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Axar Patel as the replacement for Ravindra Jadeja in the ongoing Asia Cup. Ravindra Jadeja has sustained a right knee injury and is ruled out of the tournament. He is currently under the supervision of the BCCI medical team. His replacement, Axar Patel was earlier named as one of the standbys in the squad and will join the team in Dubai soon,” the BCCI said in a statement.

Jadeja is an integral player for India across formats. In the first match against Pakistan, the southpaw made 35 off 29 deliveries to bring India out of a tricky situation. The left-hand batter made a partnership of 98 runs against Pakistan and it proved to be vital to India’s victory.

He also bowled two overs but could not take any wickets. In the second match against Hong Kong, the Gujarat player took one wicket in four overs while giving away just 15 runs. Much like Jadeja, Axar Patel could play crucial knocks with the bat and could also bowl full four overs quota.

India won both of the matches and has now qualified for the Super Four where they will clash with Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and one of Hong Kong and Pakistan. India is next scheduled to play against the winner of the Pakistan vs Hong Kong match on 4th September 2022.

India Squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Related Posts