Cricket News

‘So proud of this team’ – Twitter elated as Guyana Amazon Warriors rocket into the playoffs of CPL 2022

Rahamanullah Gurbaz top scored with a cracking 60 runs with six sixes
Guyana Amazon Warriors
Guyana Amazon Warriors -Source (Twitter)

The 28th match of the Caribbean Premier League took place between the Guyana Amazon Warriors and the Trinbago Knight Riders at Providence Stadium at Guyana on Saturday. The Trinbago Knight Riders won the toss and chose to bowl first. The Guyana Amazon Warriors were given a good start by Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who scored a superb 60 from 42 balls with six sixes in his innings.

Ravi Rampaul and Samit Patel got Chandrapaul Hemraj and Shai Hope respectively to leave the team in trouble at 56-2. The Guyana Amazon Warriors needed a solid player in the middle, and they got that in the form of Shakib Al Hasan. He provided stability with a quickfire 35 from 25 balls with four boundaries and 1 maximum.

At the end, the finishing blitz was provided by Shimron Hetmyer (23 off 14) and Odean Smith (22 off 7) to take the Guyana Amazon Warriors to a competitive total of 173-6.

Sunil Narine starred with the ball for the Trinbago Knight Riders by picking up 2 for 23 in his spell of four overs. Samit Patel also had a good spell of his 3 overs as he picked up a wicket for 23 runs.

In the second innings, the Trinbago Knight Riders knew that they needed a good start to get to the target. But they did not get the start they wanted and collapsed like a house of cards. The Guyana Amazon Warriors bowled as a unit and put up a disciplined bowling effort. Colin Munro scored 30 from 26 balls with 1 four and 2 sixes.

Samit Patel made a good 34 from 27 balls with 3 fours and 1 six but other than those two contributions, the batting line-up of Trinbago Knight Riders were pressured into submission. Shakib Al Hasan picked up 2 for 20 in his 4 overs. Imran Tahir and Junior Sinclair picked up 2 wickets each in their four over spells. This was a commanding win for the Guyana Amazon Warriors as they won by 37 runs.

Twitter was abuzz, let us take a look at the reactions here –

Related Posts