Cricket News

In Pics: Indian Team Have First Practice Session In Harare Ahead Of Zimbabwe ODI’s

Once again like in Ireland, VVS  Laxman is set to coach India in the tour as the Zimbabwe series
Indian ODI Team
Indian ODI Team- Source (Twitter)

After dominating the short-format series against West Indies, Team India is all set to take on Zimbabwe for a three-match ODI series. Ahead of the first match, which will be played on August 18 at Harare Sports Club, The Men in the Blue led by KL Rahul took to the ground for their first practice session. In pictures shared by the Indian Cricket Board on Twitter, players like Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Shubman Gill, and Ruturaj Gaikwad, were seen practicing at the ground.

Deepak Chahar is back in the squad after recovering from the injury

Deepak Chahar has made his way back into the side after missing most of the series this year due to injury. Earlier, Shikhar Dhawan was chosen to lead the side, but once KL Rahul was declared fit, the right-handed batter was made the skipper with Shikhar acting as his deputy.

KL Rahul who is fully fit now will lead India in the ODI series against Zimbabwe, while Shikhar Dhawan has been named his deputy. Earlier, in the initial 15-member squad announced by the Indian Cricket Board on July 30, Rahul’s name was not present and Dhawan was supposed to lead the team. However, last week, the Indian Cricket Board said in a statement that Rahul has been cleared to play. The Three ODIs will be played at the Harare Sports Club on August 18, 20 and 22.

Once again like in Ireland, VVS  Laxman is set to coach India in the tour as the Zimbabwe series concludes on August 22, giving very less turnaround time as the Asia Cup starts soon after that on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates. Team India will be taking on against their arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening game on August 28.

India  Squad For Zimbabwe Series: KL Rahul Captain, Shikhar Dhawan Vice-captain, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson wicket-keeper, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

The Pictures of the Men in Blue Practicing

Related Posts