T20 World Cup 2024

20-20 World Cup 2022: Schedule, Groups, Teams, Venues and Where to watch

The 20-20 World Cup 2022 starts tomorrow on Sunday.
20-20 World Cup 2022
20-20 World Cup 2022: (Image Source: Twitter)

The much-awaited 20-20 World Cup 2022 is all set to get underway on Sunday, 16th October 2022. The first match of the tournament sees Sri Lanka take on Namibia. On the same day, United Arab Emirates will be taking on the Netherlands as well. Simonds Stadium in Geelong will play as host in both games. 

Ahead of the start of the tournament, here’s a look at how the teams are divided into different groups. 

Before the start of the Super 12s, eight teams will be taking on each other in the first round of the competition. The 8 teams are divided into two groups of four teams each. The top two teams of both groups will progress to the next stage. Here’s a look at how the teams are divided into the two groups. 

20-20 World Cup 2022 Groups

Group A: 

  1. Sri Lanka 
  2. United Arab Emirates
  3. Namibia 
  4. Netherlands

Group B: 

  1. Ireland 
  2. Scotland
  3. West Indies 
  4. Zimbabwe

Super 12s: 

The super 12 matches will begin on 23rd October 2022. On the same day, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will be taking on each other at Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

In the Super 12 round, the top 12 teams will be divided into two groups of six teams each. Here’s a look at how the teams are divided into the two groups. 

Group 1: Australia, England, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1, A2

20-20 World Cup 2022 Schedule 

October 16: Sri Lanka vs Namibia – 9:30 AM  and UAE vs Netherlands – 1:30 PM

October 17: West Indies vs Scotland -9:30 AM  and  Zimbabwe vs Ireland – 1:30 PM

October 18: Namibia vs Netherlands – 9:30 AM  and Sri Lanka vs UAE – 1:30 PM

October 19: Scotland vs Ireland – 9:30 AM and West Indies vs Zimbabwe – 1:30 PM

October 20: Sri Lanka vs Netherlands – 9:30 AM and Namibia vs UAE-1:30 PM at

October 21: West Indies vs Ireland – 9:30 AM and Scotland vs Zimbabwe- 1:30 PM

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12

October 22: New Zealand vs Australia – 12:30 PM  and England vs Afghanistan – 4:30 PM

October 23: Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up – 9:30 AM and India vs Pakistan –  1:30 PM

October 24: Bangladesh vs Group A Runner-up – 9:30 AM  and South Africa vs Group B Winner – 1:30 PM

October 25: Australia vs Group A Winner – 1:30 PM

October 26: England vs Group B Runner-up – 9:30 AM  and New Zealand vs Afghanistan – 1:30 PM

October 27: South Africa vs Bangladesh – 8:30 AM, India vs Group A Runner-up – 12:30 PM and Pakistan vs Group B Winner – 4:30 PM

October 28: Afghanistan vs Group B Runner-up – 9:30 AM  and England vs Australia – 1:30 PM

October 29: New Zealand vs Group A Winner -9:30 AM

October 30: Bangladesh vs Group B Winner- 8:30 AM, Pakistan vs Group A Runner-up – 12:30 PM and India vs South Africa – 4:30 PM

October 31: Australia vs Group B Runner-up – 1:30 PM

November 1: Afghanistan vs Group A Winner – 9:30 AM and England vs New Zealand- 1:30 PM

November 2: Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up -9:30 AM and India vs Bangladesh – 1:30 PM

November 3: Pakistan vs South Africa – 1:30 PM

November 4: New Zealand vs Group B Runner-up – 9:30 AM  and Australia vs Afghanistan – 1:30 PM

November 5: England vs Group A Winner -1:30 PM

November 6: South Africa vs Group A Runner-up  – 5:30 AM  and Pakistan vs Bangladesh- 9:30 AM

November 9:  Semi-final 1:

November 10: Semi-final 2:

November 13- Final

20-20 World Cup 2022 Venue:

As many as seven venues have been shortlisted for the 20-20 World Cup 2022. Melbourne Cricket Ground will be hosting the final of the tournament, while the semi-finals will be played at Adelaide Oval and the Sydney Cricket Ground. 

Besides, The Gabba in Brisbane, Kardinia Park in Geelong, Bellerive Oval in Hobart and Perth Stadium are the other host venues.

Related Posts