Cricket News

Watch: Virat Kohli does the hard yards in practice ahead of Asia Cup 2022

The tournament will also mark the comeback of India star batter Virat Kohli on the field
Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli- Source (Twitter)

After a dominant white-ball series against West Indies, Team India is fully geared up for their next tournament, Asia Cup 2022. The tournament will also mark the comeback of India star batter Virat Kohli on the field, as he was rested for the series against West Indies. With the Asia Cup slated to begin soon, Kohli has preparations going on in full swing. In a video posted on his Instagram handle Kohli, he was seen doing the hard yard’s in a practice session while wearing a Manchester City Jersey.

“Running into the practice week,” wrote Kohli along with the Instagram story.

Here is the video-

The 33-year-old batter is going through a bad patch as he has not able to been produce a lot of runs for the team. After a poor run in the Indian T20 League 2022, Kohli failed to get big scores in the T20Is or ODIs against England. He was rested from the ODIs and T20Is against West Indies that followed and was not named in the squad for the ODIs against Zimbabwe as well.

Earlier on Monday, the All-India Senior Selection Committee announced the squad for the upcoming Asia Cup, with Rohit Sharma as the captain and KL Rahul as the vice-captain.

The pace spearhead for the Men in Blue, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, were not in the squad for selection due to injuries. They are currently undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket League in Bengaluru. The players who have been selected as standbys are – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar.

The Multilateral Tournament had to shift out of Sri Lanka to UAE due to economic and political reasons and is going to be played in the UAE.

India’s squad for Asia Cup:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Avesh Khan.

Related Posts