T20 World Cup 2024

New Zealand squad announced for World Cup 2022, Mark Chapman and Finn Allen included in the lineup

The Black Caps will be led by Kane Willamson.
New Zealand
New Zealand- Source (Twitter)

The New Zealand squad has been announced for the 20-20 World Cup 2022. New Zealand has been good as a World Cup side and had put up an impressive show at the 2021 World Cup. They were the finalists of the last world cup, which was held in the United Arab Emirates. The Black Caps had beaten England in the semifinals, but they got beaten by Australia in the final, who was on a rampage.

Amidst Question marks on Kane Williamson’s captaincy, he will continue to lead the side for the 20-20 World Cup 2022. The squad is covered on all bases with a wonderful pace attack, fine spin options, and a lot of depth in the batting. Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, and Lockie Ferguson make the New Zealand pace attack. The spin options will be provided by Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner and Mark Champman. The spin attack has good variety with a leg-spin option, a left-arm spin option, and part-time off-spin options available.

The batting will be reliant on Kane Willamson, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, and Mark Champman, who will provide solidity in the middle order and serve as a good part-time option with the ball. They will also have good young talented options with youngsters like Finn Allen and Glenn Philps, who will serve as backup wicketkeeping options, and also can contribute with the ball if needed.

Since they will be playing in Australian conditions, the pace attack of New Zealand will be their trump card and the other teams will have a handful in facing the likes of Milne, Southee, Boult and Ferguson.

New Zealand Squad for 20-20 World Cup 2022.

Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.


Related Posts